“Scream 4” – 2011. Dir. Wes Craven

 

 


With Neve Campbell, David Arquette, Courtney Cox, Emma Roberts, Hayden Panettiere, Rory Culkin, Adam Brody, Anthony Anderson, with Marley Shelton and Mary McDonnell

 

    When I first read that “Scream 4” was being made, I thought to myself that it’s a dead franchise. They ended the film on a very sour note with “Scream 3” – I mean, best part of the movie is the opening where Liev Schriber gets killed off? Then, all the “Scary Movie” movies. I just didn’t really take it seriously. Then I thought about how I have always felt that Wes Craven is an overrated director, and that I don’t really like many of his movies.

    I mean, “Scream 4”, give me a break.

    I started to think about how effect the first two “Scream” films really were, and how I don’t think they are great films, I think they are great in their genre. Fuck it, I’m going to the midnight show.    

So we open the film with a fresh new cast (but not before a couple of cameos in a “Stab” movie), and some golden oldies from the first set of films. Emma Roberts (daughter of Eric Roberts) portrays Jill Roberts, cousin of Sidney Prescott (Neve Campbell), who with her bestie Kirby Reed (Hayden Panettiere) become tormented by the Ghostface Killer.

Kirby Reed? Really. That’s a name for a girl? Oh yeah, her haircut fits the name. Seriously.

We round out the cast with Dewey (David Arquette) who is now Sherriff of Woodsboro and is still married to Gale (Courtney Cox, Arquette?) and when the killer starts killing, and she tags along with the presidents of the Horror Movie Club at Woodsboro High – Robbie Mercer (Erik Knudsen) and Charlie Walker (Rory Culkin) to try and get her career back.

All the while, ole girl Sidney Prescott is back in her home town to open up her book tour. And don’t you know it, the killings start again!

This movie is predictable, yet still manages to surprise you, and as unbelievable as it is, your still dig it. The new cast is fun, it reminds us of the cast from the original film. Wes Craven gets a pallet of actors that suit the film, the mood, and the roles perfectly.

Craven delivers a solid film from a franchise that should be all, but dead. And Emma Roberts pulls a little “Star 80” of her own.

Rating: 7.5/10

Author: Frank Mengarelli

Everybody relax, Frank's here. After going to film school at Columbia College Chicago, Frank decided to underachieve with his vast knowledge of film into a career in civil service. Frank had a brief stint as a film blogger, and then he met the heterosexual love of his life, Nick Clement. The two instantly bonded over their love from everything to Terence Malick to THE EXPENDABLES films. Some of Frank's favorite filmmakers are Terence Malick, Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Sylvester Stallone, Oliver Stone and Spike Lee. Some of his favorite films are THE TREE OF LIFE, STAR WARS (all of them), BAD LIEUTENANT, THE THING and ALL THAT JAZZ. Frank spends his free time with his dog Roger, collecting any Star Wars collectible he can find and trying to finish his pretentious, first person narrative novel(la), LARGE MEN IN SMALL CARS..

1 thought on ““Scream 4” – 2011. Dir. Wes Craven”

  1. It’s strange. I didn’t want to see it, but I do now. I had no interest in it until it was released, and now I find myself thinking, as you said, the first two films were good enough that this might warrant a go.

    And I’m not sure I’d say Craven is “overrated”, in that I haven’t met too many who rate him that highly. The adjective that comes to mind for me is “inconsistent.”

    Now to try to convince the better half.

Leave a Reply

