The Actors: Jeff Bridges

Those of you who know me, know one thing at least – that I love Jeff Bridges.  He is an actor who has remained cloaked to most throughout the years, and didn’t really surface in the main stream until the indie hit “Crazy Heart” garnished Bridges his first actual Oscar.  Jeff Bridges is an actor with so much range it’s mind blowing, and to say the least – Jeff Bridges is a cinematic treasure.  Here are my top ten performances by Jeff Bridges.

  1. Ted Cole, “The Door in the Floor”
  2. Tom Friend, “Masked and Anonymous”
  3. Duane Jackson, “The Last Picture Show”/”Texasville”
  4. Rooster Cogburn, “True Grit”
  5. Bad Blake, “Crazy Heart”
  6. President Jackson Evans, “The Contender”
  7. The Dude, “The Big Lebowski”
  8. Lightfoot, “Thunderbolt and Lightfoot”
  9. Obidiah Stane, “Iron Man”
  10. Jack, “The Fisher King”

Note:  My Mom came over one night during the holidays to watch a movie (my Mom doesn’t really watch that many movies) and she told me she hasn’t seen “Iron Man 2” yet.  She was shocked when I told her I didn’t have it.  I told her that I didn’t think it was very good.  She replied:  “It’s hard to outdo Jeff Bridges, dude.”

I love my Mother.

 

What are your Top Ten Jeff Bridges’ performances?

 

Author: Frank Mengarelli

Everybody relax, Frank's here. After going to film school at Columbia College Chicago, Frank decided to underachieve with his vast knowledge of film into a career in civil service. Frank had a brief stint as a film blogger, and then he met the heterosexual love of his life, Nick Clement. The two instantly bonded over their love from everything to Terence Malick to THE EXPENDABLES films. Some of Frank's favorite filmmakers are Terence Malick, Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Sylvester Stallone, Oliver Stone and Spike Lee. Some of his favorite films are THE TREE OF LIFE, STAR WARS (all of them), BAD LIEUTENANT, THE THING and ALL THAT JAZZ. Frank spends his free time with his dog Roger, collecting any Star Wars collectible he can find and trying to finish his pretentious, first person narrative novel(la), LARGE MEN IN SMALL CARS..

4 thoughts on “The Actors: Jeff Bridges”

  1. Someone else that appreciates Bridges performance in ‘The Contender’! My favorite President on film.

    The other two are Douglas in The American President and Sellers in Dr. Strangelove.

  2. What about ‘The Open Road’ with Justin Timberlake? I know the movie itself isn’t anything spectacular, but it isn’t bad by any means, and Bridges does an excellent job with his character in this movie.

    1. Nick! Ha! Thanks for checking out my blog! I consider myself versed in all things Jeff Bridges, but I’m ashamed to admit that I haven’t seen that one yet. I’m going to have to check it out ASAP!

Leave a Reply

