Let me be Frank.

If you think ”The Social Network” is the best film of the year, you’re an asshole.

 

Edit at 8:09 am – 1/6/11:

Okay, maybe I don’t think your an asshole – I just think there are better films this year that are getting swept under the rug by the juggernaut that is “The Social Network”.  I think it’s a good film, and I think the screenplay is fabulous, but I have a deep seeded resentment for the film.  Just because everyone thinks something is great, doesn’t necessarily mean it is great.

Author: Frank Mengarelli

Everybody relax, Frank's here. After going to film school at Columbia College Chicago, Frank decided to underachieve with his vast knowledge of film into a career in civil service. Frank had a brief stint as a film blogger, and then he met the heterosexual love of his life, Nick Clement. The two instantly bonded over their love from everything to Terence Malick to THE EXPENDABLES films. Some of Frank's favorite filmmakers are Terence Malick, Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Sylvester Stallone, Oliver Stone and Spike Lee. Some of his favorite films are THE TREE OF LIFE, STAR WARS (all of them), BAD LIEUTENANT, THE THING and ALL THAT JAZZ. Frank spends his free time with his dog Roger, collecting any Star Wars collectible he can find and trying to finish his pretentious, first person narrative novel(la), LARGE MEN IN SMALL CARS..

8 thoughts on “Let me be Frank.”

  1. It’s been a great year for film. Much better than recent years, in my opinion.

    There have been at least 10 better films than The Social Network this year. People should watch more movies.

  2. I DO happen to think “The Social Network” is the best film of 2010. No, make that the best film EVER. And I’m resetting my Urban Nomad watch as I type that, so suck it!

    OK, I kid. “Social Network” is in my list, but it’s near the bottom. I just had to bust your balls.

  3. I had it in my top three, but if I had seen Black Swan or Blue Valentine it probably would have been lower.

    I won’t mind if Social Network wins Best Picture. Just like I didn’t care if Hurt Locker won the year before.

  4. Blame critics groups and blame mob mentality. It may not be my favorite movie of the year, but I fully understand why it is that “The Social Network” IS a lot of people’s favorite. It’s a great mix of a potent script, fantastic acting, well-tuned technical elements, and precise directing tied together by an incredibly timely topic. It’s a movie that stands out as something that could ultimately define 2010, and a lot of people want to hop on a bandwagon of that type.

    Backlash is normal, but I think you might be overreacting just a tad…I may not agree with all the love “The Kids Are All Right” has received but I don’t hate the people that are pushing it big time nor does it make me hate the movie.

  5. I’d cite this as just a hair over the line of obnoxiousness but when you visit a site titled “Pompous Film Snob”, I guess you get what you pay for. (Meant entirely as a good-natured rib.)

    As a counter to your last sentence– just because someone praises and rates highly a film that the entire world happens to hail as great, doesn’t mean that they’re doing so because the mainstream is head over heels for it. The film could be outstanding on its own merits (which is true of both The Social Network and The Hurt Locker). The other problem with this sort of broad attack is that you have to be willing to take on critics like Ebert, Nunziata, and Morgenstern, among the countless others who place the film in the top 3 of the year, like Burr or Dargis. Are they assholes? Or do they have good reasons for placing the movie so high on their lists?

Leave a Reply

