Yes, I am a sinner.

I can’t believe I did this.  I broke two cardinal rules today.  I can’t even believe I did this.  This all started because my TV/DVD combo shit out in my room.  I went to Best Buy today and was going to purchase a TV, I found a decent one for around $300.  It’s a 24 inch Dynex.  It was a DVD combo as well, I checked out and it rang up at $250 – what a steal!  I get home, set the bitch up.  I break out Nine, I was gonna watch it.  I couldn’t find the DVD player, I bought the wrong model.  Next move, take my X-Box 360 from the family room and use that as a DVD player, it’s been on the fritz lately and red ringed me to death.  Back to best buy.  I’m going to get a cheap DVD player.

Here’s where a broke my first cardinal rule:  I bought a Blu Ray DVD player.  I’ve been against Blu-Ray from the beginning.  I like the way film looks.  I’m a traditionalist.  Hey, the Blu Ray player is WiFi and has Netflix, Pandora, You Tube and a slew of other nice features – and it was on sale $150.  I then bought Sin City and Boogie Nights, I don’t own those on DVD and I refuse to start over – that is until I broke the second cardinal rule – I saw Watchmen: The Ultimate Cut.
I spent around $600 dollars today.

I wanted to buy 2001 on Blu Ray, but Kubrick would have rolled over in his grave.

I’m going to buy the Criterion Antichrist and A Single Man on Blu Ray.  fml
UPDATE:  Blu Ray players do not come with HDMI cables.  Classy.

Author: Frank Mengarelli

Everybody relax, Frank's here. After going to film school at Columbia College Chicago, Frank decided to underachieve with his vast knowledge of film into a career in civil service. Frank had a brief stint as a film blogger, and then he met the heterosexual love of his life, Nick Clement. The two instantly bonded over their love from everything to Terence Malick to THE EXPENDABLES films. Some of Frank's favorite filmmakers are Terence Malick, Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Sylvester Stallone, Oliver Stone and Spike Lee. Some of his favorite films are THE TREE OF LIFE, STAR WARS (all of them), BAD LIEUTENANT, THE THING and ALL THAT JAZZ. Frank spends his free time with his dog Roger, collecting any Star Wars collectible he can find and trying to finish his pretentious, first person narrative novel(la), LARGE MEN IN SMALL CARS..

13 thoughts on “Yes, I am a sinner.”

  1. Totally honestly, Blu Ray is THE WAY to watch 2001 – the picture and sound are supreme! Don’t start buying or downloading everything in HD/Blu Ray quite yet though as some of the transfers are shocking.

    Here’s a list of the Blu Rays I’ve reviewed so far, I always try to mention whether it’s worthwhile upgrading or not. I also have Blu Rays in my ‘to watch’ pile if you want to request any to jump the que.

    http://paragraphfilmreviews.com/tag/bd/

    My advice, head back to Best Buy and get a good 5.1 surround sound with big Sub woofer and Tallboy speakers because even though the picture varies a lot between discs the True HD soundtracks will knock you for ten every time.

    As a side ntoe, a good Blu Ray is far more true to film reel than any DVD. Celluloid film (although it’s analogue) has what would equate to around 2485×2970p; Blu Ray is 1920×1080p, DVD is only 720×480p.

  2. Yeah, I don’t really see myself buying a blu-ray player anytime soon either. Though I am attracted by all the other stuff it does like Netflix and Pandora. I have a 360, but it doesn’t work and evidently my warranty is up. Might just have to buy a blu-ray player when i get back from deployment. Christmas of 2011, they should be at a pretty low price by then.

    1. Yep, 3D will be the wave of the future by then!

      Frank, I’ve tagged you for a blogging awards meme thing related object, if that sort of thing’s your bag?

  3. I refuse to buy it, but then again I don’t really have to extra dough to purchase one either. Though my hubby who doesn’t really even watch movies is constantly trying to convince me to splurge on one. He likes toys.

  4. Yep, I don’t think Blu Ray has done enough to distinguish itself from DVD. But I’m a hypocrite, because we already have two players in the house. It’s a joke that the televisions and even the players don’t come with proper cables, but I honestly really notice the difference in quality. I’m not sure I’d quantify it enough to justify switching, but I notice it (particularly sound, I must admit).

  5. I’m the same as Fitz, won’t be making the move to Blu-Ray due to severe cash shortages! And $600? Would you think of sending some money my way? 😀

Leave a Reply

