Your Criterion Collection

I have always felt that Criterion Collection DVDs were a film lover’s wet dream. I pride myself on my collection and whenever Barnes & Noble or Borders has a great deal on DVDs that is when I splurge and get at least three or four Criterions. How can you not buy them when it’s a sale where Criterions are 50% off – you are seriously losing money not buying a few. So to my fellow bloggers and film freaks I want to know some things from you…

1. How many Criterion Collection DVDs do you own (or did own) and what are they?

  • 11. The Seventh Seal
  • 13. The Silence of the Lambs
  • 26. The Long Good Friday
  • 42. Fishing with John
  • 52. Yojimbo
  • 55. The Unbearable Lightness of Being
  • 61. Monty Python’s Life of Brian
  • 65. Rushmore
  • 70. The Last Temptation of Christ
  • 75. Chasing Amy
  • 97. Do the Right Thing
  • 107. Mona Lisa
  • 133. The Vanishing
  • 140. 8 ½
  • 147. In the Mood for Love
  • 157. The Royal Tenenbaums
  • 176. The Killers
  • 182. Straw Dogs
  • 258. Tanner ’88
  • 265. Shortcuts
  • 289. Hoop Dreams (See Castor’s excellent review)
  • 300. The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou
  • 399. House of Games
  • 409. Days of Heaven
  • 469. The Hit
  • 475. The Friends of Eddie Coyle

    And I own the Dr. Strangelove Criterion Laserdisc…oh yeahh

2. Have you bought any Criterions without seeing them first?

Oh yeah. I’ve bought films I’ve never heard of just due to the cover art.

3. Name one film, just one that deserves to be a Criterion.

“The Door in the Floor”

4. Have you ever called a film that would eventually get a Criterion release?

Yes. “Antichrist” coming Fall of 2010 – I’ll be standing in line for it.

5. Have you ever wondered why a film was a part of the Criterion Collection?

Yes – “The Rock” and “Armageddon”

6. Do you visit their website a lot?

Yes, everyday at least once.

7. Do you look forward to seeing the cover art for future releases?

Absolutely.

Alright that’s it for the Your Criterion Collection?

Author: Frank Mengarelli

Everybody relax, Frank's here. After going to film school at Columbia College Chicago, Frank decided to underachieve with his vast knowledge of film into a career in civil service. Frank had a brief stint as a film blogger, and then he met the heterosexual love of his life, Nick Clement. The two instantly bonded over their love from everything to Terence Malick to THE EXPENDABLES films. Some of Frank's favorite filmmakers are Terence Malick, Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Sylvester Stallone, Oliver Stone and Spike Lee. Some of his favorite films are THE TREE OF LIFE, STAR WARS (all of them), BAD LIEUTENANT, THE THING and ALL THAT JAZZ. Frank spends his free time with his dog Roger, collecting any Star Wars collectible he can find and trying to finish his pretentious, first person narrative novel(la), LARGE MEN IN SMALL CARS..

14 thoughts on “Your Criterion Collection”

  1. Haha, thanks for tagging me but there’s no way in hell I can do this. Don’t own a single one. But thanks a ton for reminding me about The Friends of Eddie Coyle. Just bumped that to the top of the queue, heard good things.

  2. Great Post! At present I only have a few Criterion titles, but hope to see this number increase as more DVDs go on sale – doesn’t happen enough in our part of the world 😦

    My small Criterion collection
    Amarcord
    Chasing Amy
    Grand Illusion
    Nanook of the North
    The Curious Case of Benjamin Button (my first Blu-Ray)
    The Life Aquatic with Steve Zissou
    The Royal Tenenbaums
    Vampyr

    2. Have you bought any Criterions without seeing them first?

    Just one Amarcord – found it used for $5! How could I resist?

    3. Name one film, just one that deserves to be a Criterion.

    Jean de Florette (1986) and the sequel Manon of the Spring (1986) – they need to be watched as a set 🙂

    4. Have you ever called a film that would eventually get a Criterion release?

    Not yet…

    5. Have you ever wondered why a film was a part of the Criterion Collection?

    Yes – I agree with your selections. And maybe Robocop?

    6. Do you visit their website a lot?

    Yeah, once a week or so.

    7. Do you look forward to seeing the cover art for future releases?

    Yea, it’s pretty fun to see them in their newsletter.

    1. I have these mixed feelings about Robocop. I like the film, but I don’t think I can get past it being so superficial.

      The one thing that I think is excellent about the film is when the main character dreams, or Robocop see’s dreams from his previous life, it’s always in the first person.

      I’ve always felt slightly disconnected from a lot of “dream sequences” because we don’t see ourselves in the third person in dreams (at least I don’t, maybe a few times).

  3. A birthday is a great excuse to build one’s Criterion Collection. I’m happy to report that since my first posting that it now includes: Modern Times & Seven Samurai on Blu Ray and Pandora’s Box (DVD)

    …and last but not least:
    AK 100: 25 Films by Akira Kurosawa

    I’m going to be busy!

Leave a Reply

