“A Nightmare on Elm Street” – 2010. Dir. Samuel Bayer.

(I know the poster is flipped. Does it really matter?)

With Jackie Earle Haley, Clancy Brown and a bunch of horrible teenish actors.

“Why are you screaming? I haven’t even cut you yet.” – Fred Krueger (Haley)

I think my friend Peyton and I were the only two people on Earth who went to go see the new “Nightmare on Elm Street” on a Saturday night just because of Jackie Earle Haley. We all know the story – the boogieman with the fedora and melted face and red sweater is killing teens in their dreams.

After the first 30 minutes I wanted to walk out. The acting is atrocious (minus Brown and Haley of course) and the screenplay was fucking brutal. I understand that with “horror” films like these – the screenplays are generally not very strong. But can you at least put in a little effort? Please?

I can’t even tell you what’s worse about the film – the screenplay or the disgustingly bad homage it shows to “The Exorcist”, “The Shinning” and “Pulp Fiction” – that’s pretty classless. Especially since it’s so bad (the homage AND the movie).

I didn’t expect this film to be great, but I expected it to at least be mediocre.

The best scenes of the film that kept me engaged where the flashback sequences of Fred Krueger while he was the gardener who lived in the basement of a preschool. Anytime Haley is on screen – he grabs my attention – even if his face looks like some sort of underwater sea plant.

This movie fucking sucks.

Review: 4.5/10

Author: Frank Mengarelli

Everybody relax, Frank's here. After going to film school at Columbia College Chicago, Frank decided to underachieve with his vast knowledge of film into a career in civil service. Frank had a brief stint as a film blogger, and then he met the heterosexual love of his life, Nick Clement. The two instantly bonded over their love from everything to Terence Malick to THE EXPENDABLES films. Some of Frank's favorite filmmakers are Terence Malick, Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Sylvester Stallone, Oliver Stone and Spike Lee. Some of his favorite films are THE TREE OF LIFE, STAR WARS (all of them), BAD LIEUTENANT, THE THING and ALL THAT JAZZ. Frank spends his free time with his dog Roger, collecting any Star Wars collectible he can find and trying to finish his pretentious, first person narrative novel(la), LARGE MEN IN SMALL CARS..

5 thoughts on ““A Nightmare on Elm Street” – 2010. Dir. Samuel Bayer.”

  1. LOL “This movie fucking sucks”! But then it still gets 4.5 out of 10? I wanted to see this but obviously, the horrendous review have quickly changed my mind.

  2. This did not surprise me at all. It looked like it sucked right from the beginning of the first preview. I tagged you in my “Seven Movie Questions” post, so you best get to it.

  3. I hated the film less than you did, but I agree that the acting was nothing special. I didn’t like the way Bayer rewrote the character of Nancy, who was almost an action-adventure hero in the 1984 movie. Now she’s just this mopey emo kid who doesn’t even look like a main character until the last 45 minutes.

    Jackie Earle Haley tried very hard to save this and I appreciated that. The guy’s an astounding actor who plays scary so good it makes me wonder what he’s like in real life.

Leave a Reply

