Recent Viewings. “Bonnie & Clyde” and “Leaving Las Vegas”.

“Bonnie & Clyde” – 1967.  Dir. Arthur Penn.  With Warren Beatty, Faye Duaway, Michael J. Pollard and Gene Hackman.

“We rob banks.”

“Bonnie and Clyde” is a gigantic film.  It’s a whirlwind of a bloody tale of two star crossed lovers.  I feel that films like “Badlands” and “True Romance” couldn’t have been made without this film.  Warren Beatty excels as usual and this film just solidifies my man crush on him.  He’s dashingly handsome, smooth talking and well polished.  He’s Warren fucking Beatty.  Faye Dunaway who I have always disliked, gives her best performance in this film.  She’s sexy, sultry and violent.  One thing that strikes me from watching the film is I get the impression that Penn is trying to ambiguously elude that Clyde Barrow is gay.  It’s not just Clyde’s incapacity to please Bonnie sexually, I don’t doubt his love for her for a second, but there’s a scene where they first meet up with Gene Hackman and his wife, and they are all in their “new” house.  They’re playing some board game, and C.W. their sidekick is sitting in front of Clyde while sits in his chair.  Clyde is bent over, with his arms hung around C.W. and Bonnie sees this and she gets up and leaves the room.  It’s just the subtle hints like this that makes me think that Barrow was gay.  But I’ve been wrong before.

Review: 9/10.

“Leaving Las Vegas” – 1995.  Dir. Mike Figgis.  With Nicholas Cage and Elizabeth Shue”.

“I’ll tell you, right now… I’m in love with you. But, be that as it may, I am not here to force my twisted soul into your life.”

I watched “Leaving Las Vegas” on my birthday, and if I could have cried, I would have.  This has gotten to be one of the roughest movies I have ever seen in my entire life.  It’s so sad, but it’s truly a beautiful sadness.  The story is about Ben (which Nicholas Cage won his best actor Oscar for) who move to Las Vegas from LA to kill himself by drinking.  During his path to destruction he meets Sera, a prostitute who left LA for Vegas as well.  They form a strong and twisted bond.  They fall quickly in love with each other, and we find out as soon as they do that they are soul mates, and that they are the only two people on earth who will ever truly understand each other.  We are shown these two tortured souls, and watch them love each other in their own damaged way.  I knew what the film was about, and how it had ended, but while watching it, and the pieces of the puzzle started fitting together, it was very hard to watch and digest.  I am glad I saw it, and had experienced the film.  It’s not for everyone, but it has a very painfully beautiful and poetic ending.  I had this eerie feeling that this could be a possible foreshadowing of my life.

Review: 8/10.


Author: Frank Mengarelli

Everybody relax, Frank's here. After going to film school at Columbia College Chicago, Frank decided to underachieve with his vast knowledge of film into a career in civil service. Frank had a brief stint as a film blogger, and then he met the heterosexual love of his life, Nick Clement. The two instantly bonded over their love from everything to Terence Malick to THE EXPENDABLES films. Some of Frank's favorite filmmakers are Terence Malick, Martin Scorsese, Quentin Tarantino, Sylvester Stallone, Oliver Stone and Spike Lee. Some of his favorite films are THE TREE OF LIFE, STAR WARS (all of them), BAD LIEUTENANT, THE THING and ALL THAT JAZZ. Frank spends his free time with his dog Roger, collecting any Star Wars collectible he can find and trying to finish his pretentious, first person narrative novel(la), LARGE MEN IN SMALL CARS..

Leave a Reply

